Skip to main content Skip to navigation
KW Hipps Group Spectroscopy and Microscopy of Materials

Department of Chemistry & Material Science Program, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 99164-4630

K.W. Hipps & Associates  Website

Our group specializes in surface, thin film, and nanoparticle synthesis and characterization. We are pioneering two and three dimensional supramolecular design techniques. We are deeply interested in electronic and mechanical properties at the molecular and nanometer scale.  In addition, we have an interest in theoretical modeling of microscopic and spectroscopic results. Experimental techniques include Scanning Tunneling Microscopy (STM), Orbital Mediated Tunneling Spectroscopy (OMTS), Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM), Secondary Electron and Transmission Electron Microscopy (SEM and TEM), Inelastic Electron Tunneling Spectroscopy (IETS), Infrared and Raman Spectroscopy, Ultra-violet, visible, and photo-electron spectroscopy (UV-Vis, XPS, and UPS). Materials of interest include transition metal complexes, and metalorganics such as phthalocyanines and porphyrins. 



Click on either picture to read some papers!

Supramolecular assembly of coronene and heptanoic acid.


STM Image of a Mixed
Monolayer of Co(II) and Cu(II) Phthalocyanines. The
bright spots are the dz2 orbitals of the Co ion in CoPc.
McAllister STM and DI electronics. Click on image to learn more!

Principal Contacts….

Professor K.W. Hipps – Regents Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science and Fellow of the American Physical Society. Fellow of the American Chemical Society. Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and Fellow of the American Vacuum Society. Alfred P. Sloan Fellow. Member, Washington State Academy of Sciences. B.S from the U.T. El Paso, NATO Institute “States of Inorganic Materials” [Oxford 1973], Ph.D. in Chemical Physics, NSF postdoctoral [U. of Michigan], Washington Science Teachers ‘Teacher of the Year’ [1987]. College of Sciences Distinguished Faculty Award (1999-2000),Graduate and Professional Advisor Award(2000), University Distinguished Faculty Award (2002). Author of more than 180 publications. Work supported by the National Science Foundation, the ACS Petroleum Research Fund, and other agencies.

Professor Ursula Mazur – Professor of Chemistry and Westinghouse Professor of Materials Science. B.S from Wayne State University, Ph.D. in Physical Inorganic [U. of Michigan 1979]. Author of more than 130 scientific publications.

Dr. Shammi Rana – Postdoctoral Fellow working on experimental imaging of the solution-solid interface and chemical reactivity at surfaces and on cooperativity in surface reactions

Kirill Gurdumov – Chemistry graduate student studying imaging and spectroscopy of surface processes.

Kristen Johnson – Chemistry graduate student studying imaging and spectroscopy of chemical reactions